Applications Chin Na Applications Pa Kua Mother Palm Apps Hebei Hsing I - 12 Animals Wu Tai Chi 13 Methods
Chen Style Tai Chi Yang Style Tai Chi Pa Kua Hsing I - 5 Fists Single Whip in Tai Chi

12 Animals of (Hebei style) Xingyiquan: SWALLOW

Xingyiquan ( Hsing I Ch'uan)

The Swallow is the eighth of the 12 Animals. It is also called the Sparrowhawk. The movements emulate a swallow as it skims over water, makes a nest, and snatches an insect from mid-air. The fists are very focused on a straight line, and involve bursting (Wood), splitting, (Metal), and drilling (Water). The components of the Chinese character for Swallow identify it as a bird that depends on grass above, and swoops over water below. Therefore, the movements and shape take their cues from the calligraphy for Swallow.

This Hebei style of Hsing-I Ch'uan (Xing Yi Quan) is organized using 12 Animals that group and teach the martial characteristics of particular actions. Sample Applications from the 12 Animals: Nei Jia (Internal) Kung Fu Martial Application Example

Hsing I (Xingyiquan) Swallow take down (Jiang Rong Qiao style)

More About Hsing I Chuan (Xing Yi Quan)
Xingyi Resources: Mother Fists Video Series, Hsing I Books

About Nei Jia Kung Fu
The approach of Taijiquan, Xingyiquan and Baguazhang is to engage the opponent's aggression, maintain contact and exploit the weaknesses in the opponent's situation.
More About Nei Jia (Internal) Kung Fu

Tai Chi Chuan Overview Hsing I Chuan Overview Pa Kua Chang Overview Nei Jia Kung Fu Overview Yiquan

©2007 by and Gerald A. Sharp chiflow.comSTORE PreviousNextTaijiquanBaguazhangXingyiquan